Communicating Effectively

My interpretations did change from one modality to another. I interpreted the e-mail message as a pressing matter but at the same time her use of words were passive. Just by reading the words it seemed as if the request for the report was urgent but it was not as important as what Mark was currently working on. The phone message sounded more urgent because of the tone in her voice, she sounded desperate for the report as if she had been waiting a long time to receive this report. The face-to-face meeting appeared to be a little condescending because of the tone in her voice; she really came across as if she is tired of waiting for the report despite how busy Mark has been.

The factors that influenced how I perceived the message is tone followed by a passive voice. She appeared to be sympathetic to Mark’s workload but she was clearly agitated that her report was taking a long time to complete.

I think that the face-to-face meeting and the voicemail both conveyed the true intent of her message because the words were spoken and Mark could her the urgency in her voice. Written communication could not capture the sense of urgency, in fact in written the same words comes across as passive.

Depending in the intent of the message, choosing the correct form of communication is essential. This is something that I have never given much thought to. Clearly depending on the message choosing the right communication will pay dividends. If I see a doctor and he/she has to deliver bad news to me, I would really prefer a face-to-face or phone conversation instead of a written correspondence. When matters are pressing verbal communication allows the receiver to respond or ask questions for further clarification, correspondence cannot offer instance feedback.

This activity opened my eyes about communication. As stated earlier, I have never given much thought about communication, I simply relied on common sense. Depending on the nature of the message choosing the correct form of communication is key.

Patrick Hopkins

One thought on “Communicating Effectively

  1. Hello Patrick,

    It’s interesting how you saw a difference from one modality to the next as I saw them all equally important. I did go back and look at each one again after reading your blog and I can see how you interpreted each one different. She was passive in the email and kind of put it like the current work that Mark was doing had preference. The first time I went through the exercise I did notice the voice tones and body language but I was just focused on the message which was person needed info on a report quickly to meet their deadline for their task. This exercise does prove that we must be careful not to be misleading when communicate through email, phone or face-to-face since the message can be interpreted different by the receiver of the message.

    Carlos

Leave a Reply

